Slavery & the Gospel Experiment

By: Northern Seminary

This week we remember the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., his hard words to clergy who would rather “Wait” and his hopeful dream of a great, united America.  This week we also we also inaugurate the next president of the United States of America, Donald Trump.

Each one declares a vision for America, a vision the church in America will in some way participate.

But what was Paul’s vision for the church?

The gospel was explosively disruptive.

Like Martin Luther King, Jr.’s hope for a beloved community, Paul understood the the Great Gospel Experiment as breaking down the divisions of race, class, culture and gender (see Gal. 3:28 & Col. 3:11).

But how did Paul put the pieces back together again?

Paul’s letter to Philemon give us a behind the scenes look at how Paul creatively poked and prodded the new community gathered in Christ, and specifically Paul dealt with slavery in the early church.

Dr. Scot McKnight is hosting a FREE WEBINAR about THE GREAT GOSPEL EXPERIMENT, where you will discover Paul’s vision for the church and how he navigated these significant social disruptions, all focused on the letter to Philemon.

Details Here or REGISTER NOW (Space is limited)

 

In this webinar you will:

  • Recognized the disruptive social experiment caused by the gospel
  • Grasp Paul’s vision for the church
  • Understand how Paul dealt with slavery in the church
  • Learn how to preach Philemon

Webinar Details:

Date: Monday, Jan. 30th at 11AM Central Time (12pm EST / 9AM PST)
Hashtag: #GospelExperiment
Log-in: A link will be emailed to you in advance of the webinar

Details Here or REGISTER NOW (Space is limited)

 

January 17, 2017




Ready to start your seminary Experience?

Apply Now