10-Year Accreditation Granted to Northern

Meeting in February, the Association of Theological Schools Board of Commissioners voted in favor of re-accrediting Northern Baptist Theological Seminary for ten years through March 31, 2028. All current degree programs were approved including the Master of Divinity degree, Master of Arts in Worship, Master of Arts in New Testament, Master of Arts in Theology and Mission, and Doctor of Ministry degree.

This vote completed a two-year internal review and assessment process, culminated by a visit from an Evaluation Committee appointed by ATS. In its report, the Evaluation Committee specifically recognized the expansion of Northern Seminary to Lisle, the new programs Northern now offers, and a “recommitment to the core values the seminary articulated over 100 years ago.”

Dr. Bill Shiell, President of Northern Seminary, said, “I wish to thank the members of the ATS Evaluation Committee for their strong affirmation of our vision and strategic plan. I also want to thank Dr. Jason Gile, Interim Vice President and Dean of the Seminary for his diligent work at every phase of this process. He was instrumental in drafting the self-study and overseeing the project from beginning to end. I’m especially grateful to each member of Northern’s internal self-study committee for their hard work and to Christine Kolb and Board of Trustees Chair Jim Stellwagen who hosted the evaluation committee while they were in Lisle.”

Members of Northern’s Self Study Committee were

Jason Gile, Chair;
Cindy Bunch, Board of Trustees;
David Fitch, Faculty
Marilyn Mast Hewitt, Registrar;
Scot McKnight, Faculty
Gail Rice, Alumna
Bill Shiell, President
Jim Stellwagen, Board of Trustees;
Deirdre Williams, student

The ATS Evaluation Committee was

Rev. Dr. Stephen Crocco, Yale University Divinity School, Committee Chair
Mr. Philip Bishop, The Seattle School of Theology and Psychology
Rev. Dr. George Bullard, Columbia Metro Baptist Association
Dr. Sharon Tan, United Theological Seminary of the Twin Cities

ATS Liaison  

Dr. Debbie Creamer, Director, Accreditation and Institutional Evaluation

Ready to start your seminary Experience?

Apply Now